Kilimanjaro Diary, day 2 on the mountain – Kinky Camp

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I had no idea at this stage that getting up after a terrible nights sleep was going to be the norm. I put last nights rubbish recharge down to a combination of first night excitement, sleeping on a rocky incline and Dave snoring (loudly) in the tent next door. His loving wife of 20 + years was also getting fed up with his snoring and little did Dave know that she would shortly be ‘leaving him’ to bunk in with a better tent mate, in the form of Fiona –anyway, that’s another story.

The deal is that we get woken up by our porters with a bowl of warm water for washing, and a cup of tea at 06.30. My porter is called Francis, and he seems to amazingly be around whenever I need him or my bag – he looks a bit like the butler out of the Fresh Prince of Bel-air and I have to fight the urge to call him Jeffery instead. We have 30 minutes before breakfast and wrestling with my sleeping bag and sleeping mat to get them into their bags and then into my rucksack pretty much takes up all my getting ready time.

Breakfast is a surprise hearty affair, porridge and fruit followed by omelette and sausages and more tea – then before we know it we are walking again with Gardi setting a steady pace.

We are climbing 1000 metres today, way over the recommended daily increase of 300 metres per day, and whilst yesterday we found it hard to walk so slowly we are starting to notice the effects of the altitude. Our breathing is more laboured and I’m starting to suffer with headaches. This is all very normal, its reassuring to hear everyone panting as much as I am. Our 5 minute breaks are very much welcomed each hour and as this stage of the trek our conversation is pretty much centred around snacks and going to the toilet. We are all amazed how frequently we need to go, this is a combination of taking Diamox (a controversial drug that can be used against the effects of altitude and we were recommended to take by Kirsty) and of course drinking a huge volume of water.

As we walked along Fiona, who has spent a lot of time in Africa, was pointing out the buffalo and elephant droppings. They come up the mountain at night and spent their days much lower – I vocalised how lovely it would be to bump into either/or….before Fiona put me straight and then I spent the rest of the morning praying we didn’t bump into them.

Lunch was awesome. A mini camp had been set up ahead of us and an incredible 3 course meal was waiting, the table in the sun covered in table-cloth was a beautiful sight after 4 hours walking. I was also heard commenting on the luxury toilets at this camp, and then marvelled how quickly one’s standard change. What I should have said is that these toilets had a tiled floor and a lock on the door.

Today was the first day that we encountered a group we had christened ‘the posh people’ – so named on the basis that they brought their own toilet with them and all appeared to change their clothes before they ate. Whilst they were English, our 2 groups couldn’t be more different – reminded me a bit of the good life in a funny kind of way, or could have been that one of the ladies sounded a bit like Margo.

The afternoon walking felt a bit harder and after playing some memory games along the way to pass the time, we finally arrived at camp. It’s not officially called Kinky camp, of course, and there’s nothing kinky about it (unless you have a thing for exceptionally grim toilets) it begins with K and neither Nicole nor I could remember the proper name and it sounded a bit like kinky – so the name stuck.

There was a hilarious moment yesterday before we started our trek. Kirsty and Nicole suddenly realised that someone at Sparks Head Office had populated some of the columns on the personal information sheet about the team incorrectly, and that despite their earlier belief that it was – today was NOT Rupinders birthday. (His birthday is in April?) This was going to be embarrassing on the basis they had requested a birthday cake – which the catering team had lovingly created and cooked. On a mountain, this is no mean feat. So after dinner, we sang a happy birthday to and celebrated Nicole’s birthday which had been the previous week. It was incredible to watch Mike, George and the boys bring a lit birthday cake into the mess tent and for us all to be united in song. The cake was a delicious treat and we laughed all trip about the birthday that never was. I wonder what happened to the card they bought him?!

It’s a bit colder tonight so I’m sleeping in my thermals. I’ve started to avoid drinking too much after 4pm as its just grossly inconvenient to have to get out my sleeping bag, into my walking boots, out the tent and then walk slowly/pant all the way to the toilet and back……..oh the practicalities and joys of mountain life!

About sarknight

Director of a regional recruitment agency and passionate about my industry, local business and my work. Mother to 2 amazing children who inspire me on a daily basis to not only aim high, but to enjoy the little things in life too. I have a 'yes man' attitude to life and adventures, I love life and try to make the most of every moment and encourage others to do the same. I like to think I tread the fine line between exercise addiction and fun lover/party lifestyle fairly well. This blog will be about me and my preparation to climb Mount Kilimanjaro in February 2011 - and whatever else I feel like sharing with you....!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kilimanjaro Diary, day 2 on the mountain – Kinky Camp

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Kilimanjaro Diary, day 2 on the mountain – Kinky Camp | I'm climbing Kilimanjaro for charity! -- Topsy.com

  2. Ah, Kikelewa Camp (checked a photo of my Day 2 t-shirt)!
    Great memories 🙂

Leave a Reply

