3 sleeps to go…..

Firstly, an apology. I had every intention of blogging every day in the lead up to my trip but the last few days have passed in a bit of a daze. I have had packing to deal with, an eye infection and the death of my beloved MacBook – all of which have been pretty traumatic in one way or another!

The eye infection has zapped my energy over the weekend and has left me unable to wear contacts. Someone today told me I looked studious…..stupid is possibly closer to the truth. Note to self, sometimes you need to wear your ’emergency glasses’ and its probably worth investing in a pair that are more flattering.

It is with my words from a previous blog ‘Prior preparation prevents piss poor performance’ ringing in my ears that I admit I hadn’t backed up my MacBook, despite a similar episode with my hardrive 2 years ago. Clearly the ‘once bitten twice shy’ gene is missing from me. To loose my iTunes library 3 days prior to my trip, having spent all weekend downloading new albums that I hadn’t uploaded to my iPod, and with a trip that will see me travelling for 16 hours to get to our hotel a few days away has me in a state of utter panic.

I get the feeling I may have lost some of my readers at this point, possibly gone off to google ‘external hardrives’. Seriously, if you haven’t backed up your primary pc/mac….do it…(from someone who has lost everything twice….doh…)

Anyway……to bring you up to speed. It’s 3 sleeps until I leave the UK heading to Tanzania to climb the highest freestanding mountain in the world.

I have all my kit. The only pressing task is to get all my kit into my rucksack. Sarah vs The Rucksack part 2 (Sarah fights back) is starting this evening.

I have followed the kit list to the letter and unlike most other trips, I have not overpacked or added any extra ‘essentials’ – the problem is that all our sleeping bags and liners need to be inside the main rucksack which doesnt leave as much room as is needed for the other essential kit. I am having to be a bit creative with my packing which is why my water bottle contains my underwear, snacks are inside pockets, my handluggage is full of rolled up clothes and I will be wearing lots of layers on the flight. There is little point in taking a bigger rucksack to be honest, as we are only allowed to take 12kg up the mountain.

I am at that ‘pre -dventure’ stage of just wanting to leave. The build up has become almost too much to cope with, it just feels that for every day I am in the UK its another day where I could catch a cold, twist my ankle or something else that could happen to stop me going. I can’t believe that after 7 months of training, fundraising and planning that my trip is 3 days away – and now I just want to go – although I am dreading the journey. 9 hours on the flight followed by a 7 hour coach journey to take us to our hotel which will see us spending our last ‘comfy’ night in a bed before setting off on our trek up Kilimanjaro.

So for now my time now is being spent with final preparations and spending time with my children, family and friends. I also spend a fair bit of time worrying – but who wouldn’t when faced with this kind of adventure I guess?

Team Sparks leave Exeter at 11am on Thursday. I am so excited I could either burst into tears or maybe just burst. For now, I shall love you and leave as I have a rucksack to wrestle with!

Until tomorrow……Sarah πŸ™‚

Ps. Speed dating on Thursday night was an absolute hoot. I was terrified about whether it would go smoothly, whether everyone would turn up and what I was going to say to a room full of eager singletons. I need not have worried 31 people rocked up and it was a marvellous night. There have already been some subsequent dates arranged as a result and I’m feeling pretty pleased with myself. Β£270 raised for charity and I’ve created some sparks in the process.

Pps. ‘Where is Sarah?’ – Those clever boys at Unity5 have created an iPhone application where you can track my whereabouts – infact, it’s already up and running! It’s awesome! I’ll be sending texts on my trip which will update this website – www.whereissarah.unity5.com – so you can see where I am, what altitude I am at and read my text updates.

About sarknight

Director of a regional recruitment agency and passionate about my industry, local business and my work. Mother to 2 amazing children who inspire me on a daily basis to not only aim high, but to enjoy the little things in life too. I have a 'yes man' attitude to life and adventures, I love life and try to make the most of every moment and encourage others to do the same. I like to think I tread the fine line between exercise addiction and fun lover/party lifestyle fairly well. This blog will be about me and my preparation to climb Mount Kilimanjaro in February 2011 - and whatever else I feel like sharing with you....!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 3 sleeps to go…..

  1. Scot says:

    I feel your pain with the hard drive failure, but really pleased you managed to recover the data before your trip.

    Really wishing you the best with your trip! Do you know how to get hold of the iPhone app?

    Cheers

    Scot

    • sarknight says:

      I am very lucky to have the most amazing friends – Dave from Unity5 is an utter genius and has managed to extract all my data. What a legend!
      The App is something that the boys at Unity5 made specifically for this trip, however, I understand that they have submitted it to the App Store. In terms of tracking me – all you need to do is link to this –> http://www.whereissarah.unity5.com – if you wanted the app to track you for something, I could put you in touch with them? They would be delighted to hear from you! S πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

