7 go to Snowdonia

Snowdonia in Wales is utterly beautiful, I will assume that most people reading this post will have been there at some point. If you haven’t – you really must! The views are breathtaking, the air is wonderfully fresh and its the first place in a long time that has commanded my attention to the point where I have been totally ‘in the now’ – wow!

Whilst team Sparks are a pretty fit bunch, we have been keen to get some mountain experience to prepare ourselves for the 4.5 days up Kilimanjaro and the 2 days down. Snowdon is 3000ft tall, so nothing in comparison to the enormity of Mount Kilimanjaro which stands at 19,340ft. It’s cold and indeed the closest mountain to us – therefore the perfect setting for the team weekend training!

Rather than tell you all about our weekend, you can see it in pictures here…..

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I think I walked around pretty much with a big grin on my face the whole time. Its was an ace weekend spent outdoors in great company. It was tough at times and there were a few moments where I was genuinely scared of slipping to my peril! It was great exercise and for the first time, I actually feel like I am truly ready to tackle Kilimanjaro in February.

What rocked:

The real fire in the pub where we had dinner Saturday night, thawing out whilst tucking into some hearty English food after a long day walking in the cold was just perfect!

Sharing a dorm with Nicole, Dave and Hilary. Sleeping in bunk beds and lights out by 9pm…..it was like being on school trip!

No TV – *initial sob* – missing the xfactor final after all these weeks of obsessive viewing and no mobile signal. Do you know, actually, it was pretty wonderful to have a break from my normal life.

Walking poles!!!

Meeting new team-mate Rupinder for the first time. A great guy and fabulous addition to team Sparks!

Bonding as a team, laughing as we all fell over at points and the snowball iceball fight!

What sucked:

Finding a hole in my new walking trousers and exposing myself without even realising it. Doh.

No TV – *initial sob* – missing the xfactor final after all these weeks of obsessive viewing and no mobile signal.

Our 5 hour journey home taking 7.5 hours due to the M5 being closed and us being subject to a diversion. Poor Dave was driving, what a legend he is for letting the rest of us sleep.

Having to leave…..! I am beginning to feel that my calling is to be outdoors……

Strangest things we saw:

I have no idea where these guys were going to ride their bikes!!!!

Until next time… Sarah 🙂

About sarknight

Director of a regional recruitment agency and passionate about my industry, local business and my work. Mother to 2 amazing children who inspire me on a daily basis to not only aim high, but to enjoy the little things in life too. I have a 'yes man' attitude to life and adventures, I love life and try to make the most of every moment and encourage others to do the same. I like to think I tread the fine line between exercise addiction and fun lover/party lifestyle fairly well. This blog will be about me and my preparation to climb Mount Kilimanjaro in February 2011 - and whatever else I feel like sharing with you....!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment